Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • England: ALL  

aussie_canuck

58, Retired

58, Retired

** Please note - we are locked down in Edmonton until international travel opens up so won't be able to make any sitting commitments in the UK until late 2020 **

Do you want to feel confident that your pets will thrive in your absence? That they will be fed, walked, cuddled and loved? That you will return to a secure, clean, tidy home? Not having to worry about what's happening back home is very important to us when we travel and we want you to feel that you've left your beloved pets and home in trustworthy hands.

We are Mary and Matthew, a long time married couple with a varied background. She is Canadian; he is Australian and we met while cycling in the States. We've worked, traveled, owned our own business, had a child, farmed, worked some more, and have just started (Sept '18) our longed-for retirement. Mary, in her youth, was a competitive three-day eventer with her horses, and we both gained enormous experience with livestock large and small as goat farmers in the Cariboo. We've done basic veterinary care for the goats, pigs, livestock dogs, three rescue Boxers and Greyhounds and our Standardbred ex-racehorse, Mercy.

Please feel free to ask us any questions about our experience so you can assure yourselves that your pets and property are being left in capable hands.

PS: We don't smoke and are long past the partying stage of life...

Reviews (11)
Matthew looked after our 14yo dog Gus for 2 werks in January. He did a fantastic job looking after Gus and also our house and garden. The house was spotless on our return and he even restocked the fruit bowl and milk and bread which was very considerate. Gus was so happy and relaxed on our return he barely noticed us so we could tell he had a great time. Matthew also kept in regular contact with updates so we knew eveything was ok. I would definately recommend Matthew and Mary ... MORE
 
ANNE (Pennant Hills NSW, Jan 2020 - 1 week 5 days) From Aussie House Sitters
Mary and her partner have done a wonderful job caring for Skye. It was our first time using this website and we have had a very positive experience with their care and communication!! Thank you so much!! Come back to Sylvania any time!!!
 
NICOLE (Sylvania Southgate NSW, Jan 2020 - 1 week 6 days) From Aussie House Sitters
We were more than happy to leave our dogs and house in Mary and Matthews hands. Easy going kind and caring couple. Kept us upto date on the girls and sent through photos of the girls. Very happy doggies on our return.
 
MARIA (Evandale TAS, Dec 2019 - 6 days) From Aussie House Sitters
Mary and Matthew looked after our house for 10days while we were away. We have 3 dogs and they were left in the best hands! Mary and Matthew are very clean, respectful, they stay in regular contact and walked our dogs every day. Even organised a play date with our greyhounds best friend. If you have Mary and Matthew house sit your animals are in safe hands. Please don't go back to Canada yet!!! Thanks so much :)
 
MEG (Highton VIC, Nov 2019 - 1 week 3 days) From Aussie House Sitters
I have just returned from a short holiday. Whilst I was away I had Mary & Matthew take care of my home and my 2 fur female doggies, Gabby & Mitzi in Dunsborough WA. On my return I was greeted by Mary & Matthew with open arms as well as 2 very happy and healthy dogs. To me, it was obvious they had lots of love, attention, walks and play time. I also came home to a very clean and tidy home. They also kept in touch with me every day by email and texts with lovely photos of my dogs which put my ... MORE
 
JILL (Dunsborough Lakes WA, Oct 2019 - 1 week) From Aussie House Sitters
Mary and Matthew house sit for us while we went on our first family holiday to the Gold Coast for 1 week 4 days. I was excited when Mary contacted me about our ad and felt very confident with their experience and communication that we had chosen the right sitters. Communication was great from the beginning and throughout the sit. We had regular updates and photos daily of how our pets were going. It sounded like our pets had more fun with Mary and Matthew then we did on our holiday. :) They ... MORE
 
TAMARA (Quinns Rocks WA, Oct 2019 - 1 week 2 days) From Aussie House Sitters
It was a pleasure to have Mary and Mathew who are a lovely friendly couple look after our dogs which they carried out in an excellent manner they kept us well informed and look after our house beauitful I have no hesitation in recommending them for any future house sitting position Thank you so very much Mary and Mathew safe travels and enjoy your adventure
 
SHIRLEY (Kyabram VIC, Oct 2019 - 5 days) From Aussie House Sitters
It has been a pleasure to have Mary and Matthew looking after my cat and house while I have been away for the best part of 4 months on sabbatical. Communication with them has been excellent from start to finish. As well as initial emails and a phone conversation, Mary came to Exeter (when they were in Bristol) to meet me and my cat and see the house etc (they were looking after 5 dogs at the time so understandably they were not both able to take the day off to come and visit). My cat, who is ... MORE
 
AMANDA (Exeter England, Mar 2019 - 4 months)
Mary and Matthew sat my house and german shepherd Kai for over two weeks in January 2019 whilst they are travelling and seeing the UK. Communication prior to the sitting was excellent as were their commitment to fulfilling the sit. A great relief! My dog was very happy on my return and from the description of the walks they did, she was exercised very well. The house was kept very clean which was also appreciated. I would have no difficulty in recommending Mary and Matthew to anyone. In ... MORE
 
PAUL (Winchcombe England, Jan 2019 - 2 weeks 3 days but can split)
No rating we have had the absolute pleasure of welcoming Mary and Matthew into our home while we took a break. What a wonderful couple! From the minute we confirmed the dates, they kept in touch and made sure we felt confident and relaxed about leaving our babies with them. The dogs loved them on sight, the parrots often won't speak for strangers but were chattering instantly which is a first. we came back to happy dogs, a clean house and Mary had even made us dinner as we were late home. A ... MORE
DIANE (BOLD HEATH England, Nov 2018 - 1 week 5 days)
No rating I'm more than happy to recommend Mary and Matthew if they offer to look after your pets / house. They're both very friendly, 100% trustworthy, and maintain excellent communications both before and during the sit. They kept Jasper thoroughly walked and entertained (despite the constant rain!), and even left the house cleaner than I left it! All the sheets were laundered on my return (despite insisting that they didn't need to worry), and my pans looked like new (which is quite a feat!). MANY ... MORE
ALLAN (Weymouth England, Nov 2018 - 5 days)
 
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge