Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Chickens/Ducks/Geese
Preferred Locations
  • Channel Islands: ALL   England: North East, South East (Isle of Wight, Kent), South West, Yorkshire and the Humber   Isle of Man: ALL   Scotland: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
    Jan
  • 2022: 6Sep-27Sep | 18Nov-20Nov | 27Nov-6Dec | 2023: 19Jan-24Jan | 13Feb-20Feb 2022: 31Jul-5Sep | 27Sep-8Oct | 6Dec-14Jan2023 | 2023: 1Apr-30Apr

Dog lovers from Devon

64, Accounts Manager

65, Retired

We've had springer spaniels for nearly 30 years, but unfortunately cannot commit to having a dog full-time at the moment. So we'd very much like to care for other people's dogs (along with most other animals)! While we've not had cats of our own, we've been happy to look after our neighbour's cat periodically. Also, we've enjoyed caring for cats during our housesitting experiences.

I love to walk (our springers ensured I was exercised frequently!) and for some time have been endeavouring to walk around the coast of Britain. I've walked over 3000 miles so far, but unfortunately, like so many other things, it has been rather curtailed by Covid recently. I'm hoping to continue my adventures soon!

We live in Devon & would love to have the opportunity to house-sit locally in the South West, or anywhere that is near to the coast, so I can continue my round Britain trek. I have a few miles left to walk in Kent, but otherwise I've walked the coast south of Hull & Chester. So any opportunities in the North of England or Scotland would be great. Any dogs that would enjoy sharing my coastal adventure would be very welcome to join me. I miss the companionship of our old springer Max, who loved our coastal wanderings.

I work part-time (mainly from home) as an Accounts Manager & my husband John is a retired marine engineer. We'd be happy to do any gardening maintenance & of course, would keep your house clean & tidy. Most importantly, we'd really enjoy caring for your pets, as if they were our own.


Please get in touch if we can help. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rita & John

Reviews (7)
No rating Rita and John were absolutely fantastic house sitters and I would love to have them house sit again. They really tried hard to get to me in time before I left, after my dates changed too, they sent me pics of the animals while I was away and I came back to a spotless house, better than how I left it! And to top it all off my wonky toilet seat was fixed when I came back, I was so grateful!! They really care about looking after the house and the animals in the right way and are just lovely ... MORE
HANNAH (Chagford England, Oct 2021 - 1 week 1 day)
Many thanks Hannah. We'd be very happy to housesit for you again.
From the moment Rita and John arrived I knew they were the right people to care for my dog and cat. Rita and John, are lovely, and we're easy to communicate with from first contact. My usually anxious dog (when seeing suitcases) was lying on the sofa next to Rita as I was leaving and she didn't seem at all bothered! Our pets are great judges of character and I was so pleased to see both of my instantly at ease with there new careers. During my week away we had contact a couple of times, ... MORE
 
JAN (Whitstable England, Apr 2022 - 1 week)
Rita and John are absolute stars, who looked after our home and our 3 dogs with the utmost care and attention, it was great to have regular updates. Are dogs were so happy, and our home never cleaner! It was a shame so much rain, better weather next time - hopefully. If you are lucky enough to secure them for your sit you will be delighted and worry free whilst away from your home. Thank you so much - repeat booking on its way fingers crossed it accepted.
 
CELIA (Sarnau , Feb 2022 - 2 weeks 1 day)
Rita and John have been great dog sitters for us. Experienced with animals, communication was timely, the house and linen were very clean and tidy, and Poppy was settled when we returned, a sign of good and safe care. They clearly have affection for Poppy and it showed. We would recommend them as house and pet sitters and wish them well on future sits.
 
JOHN (Brixham England, Jan 2022 - 1 week 1 day)
Rita and John were the best house and dog sitters we could have hoped for. They engaged with Paddy, our young lab, straight away and he loved them. We felt very secure leaving them here together and came home to an immaculate house and a happy/chilled dog. Highly recommended.
 
LOUISE (Faversham England, Dec 2021 - 5 days)
Rita and her husband helped us out of a jam when our house sitters let us down at the last minute. Although they continued to go to work during the time they were sitting for us their routine was changed to accommodate the needs of the dogs. They are a conscientious, respectful, kind and polite couple who are clearly very fond of dogs. They are experienced dog owners who respond to the dogs' needs and demeanor very quickly. The house was clean, neat and tidy on our return and a lovely meal ... MORE
 
ROBERTA (Kingsbridge England, Jul 2019 - 1 week 2 days)
Rita came to look after our house for 5 days. She looked after the pets really well and left the house tidy with the linen on the washing line. Our dog enjoyed accompanying her on some of her long walks. It was very nice to have met Rita & hear about her challenge to walk the coast of Britain. I would throughly recommend her & would love to have her house-sit again.
 
REBECCA (Leigh On Sea England, Apr 2019 - 5 days)
Thanks Rebecca, much appreciate your kind comments. If I'm able to come back again, I will....
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge