Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, None
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Dec
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
    Apr
    May
  • 2020: 31Oct-31Jan2021
  • On a house-sit right now

Dr Duncan James

46, Writer

I trained as a scientist, moved into teaching after a few years and now I'm a full-time writer. I enjoy writing (I guess that is obvious), travel, hiking and reading.

General note about my sitting: I mainly do sits through a different site, so I can send a link to additional references if you contact me. This site (House Sitters UK) I use because I have found it to be a particularly good source of slightly longer sits in England which I often like to use when I've got a bit of a writing deadline.

As you can tell from my profile pic I love cats. I think there must be cat blood in me as they seem to always like me. If you have a shy or nervous cat I would hope to be a reassuring presence for them while you are away.

Regarding dogs. I'm a very calm person which is perhaps why cats take to me. This does mean that I have found I can work very well with quiet dogs. So, if your dog is lively (perhaps constantly jumping up) or not very obedient I am not a good choice of sitter. However rest assured that if I am caring for a friendly dog I can sometimes be strict if necessary: By which I mean I can calmly and clearly reinforce boundaries of behaviour without raising my voice or being aggressive.

Housesitting is a responsibility I take very seriously. I do not smoke and in fact I also do not drink and am vegetarian. I will keep your house clean and tidy. I will both be a friend to your pets and also act as their guardian by watching their health. I place all sits in my diary (communicating clearly to find out exactly the date and time that suit for arrival and departure) and am very careful to keep that time reserved for you.

As I am a full-time writer a key benefit for you is that I will spend a lot of time at your house. Generally I go out for a walk once a day and otherwise I am always around to keep your pets company.

I typically apply for sits in the countryside. As a keen hiker I usually go for one or two very long expeditions of a month or more every year; visiting remote places like the Rockies, Alps, Andes and so on. To maintain my fitness I walk a lot and this means if you have a dog I can reassure you it will get given long walks (if it wants them). Equally I am used to being in a remote place and can easily cope. I will walk to do things like go shopping because it is a way for me to maintain my fitness for doing 20 mile days with a heavy rucksack on my expeditions. Usually I do not bring a vehicle to a housesit but would immediately call for a taxi if needed to carry out my duties as a housesitter.

 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge