Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Dec
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
    Apr
    May
  • 2020: 5Dec-8Jan2021

*Experienced House + Pet Sitters*

40, Writer + Performer + Coach

38, Engineer

*We've been pet- and housesitting full time in New Zealand since June 2017 and NOW we'll be bringing the love to the UK from mid-May 2018.:)

We tie ourselves down, so you don't have to!

Have one less thing to worry about, knowing that your home, pets and plants are in safe and loving hands while you're away.

We are a cheerful and friendly, married Kiwi + American couple who enjoy meeting new people, exploring new places and caring for your sweet-natured pets. Shane (the Kiwi) is a school teacher turned engineer and Melissa (the American) is a church staffer turned business coach and freelance writer.

Shane and Melissa both work from home, so will be there to love on your pets and look after your home throughout the day!

Between us, we have experience looking after our own residences, gardens and pets, as well as house- and pet-sitting, and child-minding. Both of our jobs have carried a lot of responsibility: Shane, for the well-being of children, and Melissa, the well-being of people and property (She was also entrusted with making sure the church building was secure whenever not in use - lights off, all doors locked, alarm set, etc.). We are able to provide excellent references if desired.

We are also keen communicators and can correspond with you as much or as little as you like regarding your home, as well as send you regular updates and photos of your pets.

Therefore you can rest assured that we are both incredibly conscientious, responsible and attentive caretakers.

Fun facts and interests:
We both love fancy dress parties, Italian cuisine, have acted together, studied French together, and have a hard time not petting and playing with the neighbourhood cats and dogs we meet on our walks. ;)

We are involved at our local church and are often only a phone call or text away when someone needs a hand, from watching a family's four children so the parents can have a night out, to rescuing someone with car troubles.

Shane:
* Taught swing dancing for adults (and competed nationally and internationally) and has just completed his Engineering Management Masters Degree
* Has a very sporty side, regularly playing indoor soccer and ultimate frisbee
* Very handy and a great problem solver (probably his engineering side!)

Melissa:
* Is a classically trained actor and singer
* Is a writer (writing for vocal and theatrical performance, blogging, fiction and non fiction) and is also an online coach for creatives and entrepreneurs
* Loves to curl up on the couch with an herbal tea and a book or film (and a good piece of chocolate lava cake! Ok, Shane does, too!)

Feel free to get in touch with us to discuss your requirements. We would count it a privilege to look after your home, plants and pets while you travel!

Reviews (8)
Melissa and Shane looked after our flat and our two cats wonderfully. They were ideal house sitters: prompt to respond to messages, unafraid of asking questions as they arose, and clearly adept at looking after animals. Our cats were sorry to see them go. Would recommend unreservedly.
 
EMILY (Stirling Scotland, Dec 2019 - 9 weeks)
No rating Melissa and Shane housesat for us for 11 days in July 2018. They looked after our house, 2 cats and lively young dog so well and we would highly recommend them. We came back to our lovely tidy house as well as 3 very happy pets who had been so well looked after by Melissa and Shane. One of our cats is a bit timid with new people but within a couple of days she was totally at home with them and our dog had many lovely and long walks. Melissa kept us updated every few days which was lovely as ... MORE
CAROLINE (London England, Jul 2018 - 1 week 4 days)
No rating Our first time using housesittersuk site and we struck gold with Melissa and Shane. A wonderful caring couple who looked after our house, garden and our beloved dog "Bosun" to perfection. In fact, the house was sparkling clean when we returned from holiday and Bosun wanted to leave with Melissa. We can't recommend them highly enough.
JUDITH (Teignmouth England, Jun 2018 - 2 weeks 3 days)
No rating Melissa and Shane were wonderful with the animals, and left our house as clean as a pin! They are lovely, friendly people and I would recommend them to anybody.
JEAN (Murraysbay North Island, Apr 2018 - 1 week 3 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Melissa and Shane looked after our two King Charles Cavvaliers for the week. They are an incredibly friendly couple. We returned to an immaculate house. Bed linen washed and bed remade. Our return flight was cancelled and we returned a day late. Although Shane and Melissa were due to go to another housesit,, Jamie very kindly stayed with the dogs an extra 24 hours whilst Melissa was able to go on to the next housesit. When he returned the keys the following day the dogs went crazy with ... MORE
REBECCA (Northcote Point North Island, Apr 2018 - 1 week) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Sincere Thanks for looking after Lucy and Skye so well. It gave us great peace of mind knowing you were caring for our girls. Thanks also for a great house-sitting. We will certainly recommend you to our friends. Kind Regards Jocelyn and George
JOCELYN (Greenhithe North Island, Feb 2018 - 1 week 1 day) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Shane and Melissa are just delightful people. We were going to be away for 4 months and the first time we met Shane and Melissa we felt very comfortable leaving our home in their care for that time. They were great keeping in touch with us whilst we were away letting us know that all was well. When we got home we were very happy how everything had gone in our absence. We recommend Shane and Melissa as wonderful house sitters, very reliable and caring. We would use them again. Thank you ... MORE
SUSAN (Torbay North Island, Jun 2017 - 4 months) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Shane and Melissa house sat for us a couple of months over the summer of 2014/15. The took great care of our house and cat and the place was really clean and tidy when we returned. They were really good to communicate with both before, during and after the house sit. Melissa even gave us updates on how our cat was doing while we were away- very thoughtful. My family and I would definitely recommend Shane and Melissa as house sitters and wouldnt hesitate in asking them to house sit for us again. ... MORE
MICHAEL (Waiake North Island, Nov 2014 - 1 month 3 weeks) From Kiwi House Sitters
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge