Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
  • Yes
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom

Experienced, reliable pet-lovers!

42, Carer

47, Gardener/Groundsman/Handyman

Hello!
We are a warm-hearted and responsible couple from Brighton.
We recently packed all of our possessions into storage and rented out our flat, embarking on an exploratory adventure..
With our trusty classic Hymer - Hesta - as our means of transport and base, we are combining house-sits, voluntary work projects and pure travelling as a way of exploring different ways of living, so that we can get a fuller picture of what way of life we actually want to setttle into - and where!
We are home owners and landlords, so we know very well how to look after a home. Shelley has been working as a groundsman/gardener and
handyman, so he is able to undertake jobs around the house if necessary and we both have a background in gardening.
We both adore animals of pretty much any kind - but especially the furry ones! I have always lived with dogs and cats throughout my life.
Shelley and I always seem to get adopted by the neighbourhood cats wherever we go! If we know they have a home to go to, we never feed them, they just come anyway, for strokes, a bit of play and a calm place to claim, relax and go to sleep!
When this happens, we always endeavour to make contact with the actual owners so they know where their furry friends are and so that we are all able to communicate any concerns, should they occur.
If your pet has a medical condition and it's necessary to administer medicines, I have done so a few times before over the years and we can be relied upon to take this responsibility very seriously.
We love going out for walks in the countryside and often feel sad that we don't have a lovely dog to play with while we're out. We just have to settle for giving lots of attention to all the friendly doggies who come to say hello!
So we relish any opportunity to take a new furry friend out for walks and to give them lots of love and strokes while their family is away!
We will be travelling nomads for quite a while yet, so hope to have the opportunity to enjoy helping you out, whilst having some animal love and a space to call home for a while!
Looking forward to hearing from you! :)

We have become alerted to the fact that many people have holiday rentals which they manage themselves, as we have been asked if we would consider managing these, aside from their house sitting requirements.
This is an area which we are very interested in, so we are happy to come to an agreement for house sits which involve keeping your holiday rental going whilst you are away! :)

N.B. As well as our official reviews on Housesittersuk - found at the bottom of the page - many of our previous house-sits have been outside of this site, so our home/pet owner friends are not able to post their reviews here. We have copied and pasted their reviews below and hope you can take it on good faith that they are genuine - we are honest people and would feel very uncomfortable about posting fake reviews!

"Dear Catherine and Shelley,
Thank you so much what you did for my pets and the property on Ibiza. At the day of my arrival I could see how close they were with you, even Chicky was happy with you.
You did some great work on the terraces and the garden and kept the pool as well in good condition. I will recommend you to friends and hope that you are available for the next time.
A big hug for you both,
Eduardo"

Eduardo - Ibiza: 1 week sitting for 1 dog, 2 cats, 1 chicken and 7 fish! October 2018

"Shelley and Catherine were trusted house-sitters for my mother's flat in Hove on two occasions last year.

The first time was for a period of 3 months from the end of March until the end of June, 2018.

The second time was for the month of November, 2018.

During both of their house-sits, everything was kept in order. The flat was looked after and well maintained.

Shelley and Catherine were respectful and polite and enjoyed good rapport with the neighbours.

They were communicative at all times and kept me up-to date with any issues concerning the flat.
I have known both Shelley & Catherine for 10 years and have always found them to be honest, trust-worthy and reliable.

Shelley is also my go-to gardener and handyman, always working to a high standard and helping me with all sorts of tasks and projects over the years.

Shelley and Catherine are a lovely very capable couple who I can highly recommend as house sitters."

Linda - Hove: 3 month + 1 month house sit, various dates throughout 2018


"Catherine and Shelley have often looked after our dogs Pickle, Spot and Rakkit. They have also house and dog sat for us and we have been very confident in their ability to look after both the house and the animals.
The dogs love them and are always delighted to see them!
I have no hesitation in recommending Catherine and Shelley as totally trustworthy home and animal sitters."

Cathy - Brighton: 1-5 day house and dog sits over various dates throughout 2017-2019

Reviews (7)
Catherine and Shelley looked after our cat Molly very well I think she was disappointed when they left! Excellent communication while we were away for 3 weeks.
 
LIZ (West Alvington England, Oct 2019 - 3 weeks)
This was our first time using housesitters and Catherine and Shelley made it a very positive experience. They met with us beforehand which was reassuring in that it was clear they had the interests of our cats and security of our house. They cared for both wonderfully and sent updates. Courteous in all communications. The house was left immaculately clean when they left. Thank you both.
 
DEE (Brighton England, Aug 2019 - 2 weeks 3 days)
Thank you Catherine and Shelley for looking after our dog Bobo, cats Samson and Delilah...and not forgetting the fish too! You did great at picking up on all that needed to be addressed whilst we were away. We appreciated your open and easy communication along with pet/house updates. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday knowing our animals and home were being well loved by you both! We are glad you walked alongside the local river walks and nearby countryside and enjoyed staying in our home. ... MORE
 
JO (Crawley near Gatwick England, Jul 2019 - 2 weeks)
Shelley and Catherine couldn't have been more caring of our home and pets. The house was cleaner and tidier when we returned than before we left and Shelley did loads of work in our garden, proving himself to be an excellent gardener with an eye for detail. The pets were cared for lovingly. They kept in regular contact throughout. These guys are an asset! Don't hesitate if you get a chance to have them look after your home.
 
MICHAEL & MAX (Brookthorpe England, Jul 2019 - 1 week 5 days)
Catherine and Shelley are a lovely couple. As soon as they arrived, it was obvious that they were real animal lovers, and our cats took to them immediately, as did we. They also forged a good relationship with our pet chickens, and went out of their way to make sure they were safe at night. We have a large garden, with lots of plants to care for, both in the garden and in the greenhouse or pots and tubs, and I always worry about them when I go away, but Catherine and Shelley took very good ... MORE
 
JENNY (Hurst Green, , Jun 2019 - 12 days)
Catherine and Shelley have been brilliant. They were excellent communicators before and during our holiday. They looked after our cat George even better than we do it seems! He was instantly comfortable with them and the lovely amount of attention they gave him. He was so chilled when we came home. They looked after our house plants, and the house was spotless on our return. They also very kindly sent activity updates and photos of George every day, which is what we had requested! Really ... MORE
 
PHIL AND SUZANNE (Crondall England, Apr 2019 - 2 weeks)
Catherine & Shelley are a delight to have in our home. The love and care they gave the cats was such a joy. They worked hard in the garden and left the house spotless. They sat in two occasions. A really lovely couple who I hope will sit for us in the future, although I can see they'll be in high demand
 
MARILYN (HENFIELD England, Apr 2019 - 4 days then 2.5 weeks)
 
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge