Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom

Responsible and reliable pet loving couple.

40, House and Pet Sitter

45, House and Pet Sitter

We are Paula (40) & Gareth (45). We've been full-time home and pet sitters for the past 8 years, we are not taking time from our careers but rather, are acting as house and pet custodians on a permanent basis. We are focused solely on your pets welfare and well-being and can devote our entire day to this. We were booked from January through to December and then Covid-19 rather torpedoed everyone's travel plans, thus, we now have full availability. We have built up solid relationships with homeowners and very fun relationships with their pets over the past 8 years and almost all of our sits are with regulars. This is great for continuity of care and we have spent years in the company of various cats and dogs. We've been doing this for so long now that we have sadly seen some of the animal pass on but we are lucky enough to now be looking after the next generation which gives us great satisfaction.

We have travelled the U.K and abroad for the past ten years engaged in both house/pet sitting and a work exchange program. For the prior four years we had been living in the North East of England while Gareth completed a journalism degree. During our time in the North East of England Paula was employed in the financial sector, but formerly her career background was in Spa management.

Gareth holds a full, clean, current driving licence and has often been added to homeowners car insurance when a car is necessary.

We were sick of the 'rat race' and left our old life to find a better way. We are both hard working and practical people who were fed up of working just to pay the bills! House-sitting allows us a great degree of freedom and the opportunity to visit new places, meet new people and become temporary pet guardians.

We find that the pets adopt us! As we are unable to have our own pets while travelling it is a great pleasure to spend time with homeowners pets, although it's always difficult to bid them farewell when the time comes for us to leave.

Our experience
Over the course of the past ten years we have acted as caretakers for property and guardians for pets in four countries and two continents, each house and pet sit has its own unique set of requirements and we will provide regular email updates and images of pets for owners peace of mind or are happy to maintain regular contact via a platform such as Skype. We have acted as pack leaders for eight rescue dogs in Thailand which allowed us to learn a great deal and gave plenty of satisfaction in seeing them interact with each other in a pack dynamic. We have been trusted to house-sit for hosts, which has included looking after pets, maintaining the property, dealing with any pet/house emergencies which may arise, gardening and where required providing guest services for rental/holiday accommodation.

So far we have had the opportunity to house-sit in Portugal, where we also looked after a holiday rental business, pets and 30 acres of land while the owner was absent. We spent six months in the South of Spain where we house and pet sat for three homeowners and also provided guest services for a holiday rental property for one of the owners. While in the U.K, we have cared for homes and pets in Surrey, West Yorkshire, North London,the Midlands,Lake District, Greater Manchester and Oxford to name but a few. We have had experience in caring for pedigree cats, so far Maine Coons, Birmans, Ragdolls, Siamese, and of course, plenty of moggies. We've cared for many breeds of dogs from very large Akitas, Newfoundlands, Bernese, German Shepherds to very small, Maltese, Jack Russels and everything in between and we've loved them all.

We have been living in other peoples homes and property for the past ten years and are always respectful toward them, the homeowners wishes and their pets. We are able to amuse ourselves quietly, we are not party people, and would intend for most of our time to be spent at the property. We are both animal lovers and your pets would not lack attention from us.

We are reasonably new members to this site but we have 48 five-star references on another house & pet sitting website, unfortunately we are unable to post the link here but we are happy to share it with you and we hope these will attest to our suitability.

Hope to hear from you soon.

 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, house and garden - you can really relax. Happy days.

Feefo badge