Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • England: Greater London, North East, North West (Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire), South West, Yorkshire and the Humber (North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire)   Scotland: Eastern Scotland (City of Edinburgh, Perth and Kinross, Scottish Borders), Highlands and Islands, South Western Scotland (Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire)   Wales: West Wales & The Valleys (Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Conwy, Denbighshire, Gwynedd, Isle of Anglesey, Pembrokeshire)  

Your dog will love me!

74, Retired hydrologist

73, Retired

Hi
As you might imagine, house-sitting is not on our agenda until Covid-19 restrictions are ended, but in the hope that we will return to normality I've updated the profile in January 2021.

Your dog(s) will love me because I like long walks. Your cats will probably consider me a satisfactory servant, since I will feed them and offer a welcoming lap.

In 2014 I was on this site and did two house-sits in London, looking after a chocolate-coloured Labrador called Maya. She got pretty fit with two good outings each day. She tried to "con" me into feeding her more than her owners had decreed, but she didn't break my resistance.

In 2016 I hosted my friends' Labrador-cross while they visited relations in Ireland, and I kept her happy with long walks. We repeated the arrangement in November 2017 with good results, and we have ongoing arrangements through to autumn 2019.

I have four endorsements for "sits" in 2017, and I had a further "sit" to take me to the end of 2017. Through January 2018 I was busy with my neighbour's Welsh collie, and in February I returned to the site of two previous "sits" where I looked after two cats and a border collie. I was there again in September 2018 and January 2019. The endorsements system wouldn't allow extra endorsements for additional "sits", and anyway there'd just be a lot of repetition!!

Enjoyed a great "sit" in Ardnamurchan, in 2019, looking after a border collie, 4 pigs, 8 hens and 6 ducks (I think those numbers are right!) plus a vegetable and fruit garden with polytunnel.

I'm interested primarily in rural situations, not large towns or cities, though I enjoy a few days in London or Edinburgh. Preferred locations: northern and western parts of the UK.

I'm widowed, and I live in my own house in Derbyshire. I'm happiest with my boots on in the countryside, reading a book, Jen is a good walker, an experienced and empathetic animal lover, and a successful allotment gardener. We enjoy chatting with anyone who's willing, and we're also content on our own. We don't smoke. We enjoy cooking our own vegetarian meals. I'm the owner-driver of a car.

That's it for now!

Reviews (5)
This is the first time I have used a house sitter and Peter has really set the bar high! Absolutely brilliant, I felt like I was leaving my house with family. Peters' communication was superb both before, during and after the house sit. He is very considerate and accommodating of any unusual requests. Really looked after everything very well, even making jam and pickles from excess garden veg for us. So kind. The croft animals were well cared for. Our dog Sorley had the best of times and ... MORE
 
HOLLIE (Strontian Scotland, Jul 2019 - 2 weeks)
No rating Peter and Helen were excellent sitters, real professionals. The dogs were clearly besotted with them and were not too fussed when we all arrived home! I would highly recommend Peter as a house sitter, and I am hoping that we can persuade him and Helen to come back to House sit for us another time . 5 *
AMANDA (Tarbert Scotland, Oct 2017 - 2 weeks 1 day)
No rating Peter looked after our home and Bertie, our cockapoo for 10 days in May. Bertie took to him immediately and it was obvious that they had enjoyed each others company when we returned. Peter returned my emails promptly, arrived exactly on time and was pleasant and easy to talk to. The house was neat and clean and my garden well watered. A charming sitter who we would thoroughly recommend.
JANET (Penzance , May 2017)
No rating Peter communicated clearly and promptly prior to the sit. Both he and Helen had an excellent understanding of meeting and approaching Kes who quickly adjusted to his temporary guardians. They clearly liked being with him and together they went for long walks exploring the area. I was particularly impressed by the daily report which I received on my return. Both Kes and the housefwere very well looked after and I would be very happy if they would consider coming back in the future.
MARYANNE (Carthew England, Apr 2017 - 2 weeks)
No rating Peter and Helen were excellent house and cat sitters. They left the house tidy and clean. We had the chance to meet at the end of the sit and get to know each other over a delicious pub meal. Very friendly and trustworthy.
KARELIA (Strathcarron Scotland, Feb 2017 - 1 week 4 days)
 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, house and garden - you can really relax. Happy days.

Feefo badge