Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 10 Sep 2021 - 18 Sep 2021
  • 1 week 1 day
What we need
  • Cats (1)
  • No
Sit Features
  • No
  • Outside only

We need a house sitter

South West - Gloucestershire

Julie-Ann

Sitting required for holiday cover.. 10 September for 8 days (one week plus arriving the day before).

Two Bengal cats. Trouble is older - 6/7 years, and Bailey is not a year old yet. Both can be naughty but Trouble tends to go out a lot of the day. He must be in at night, no cat flap so needs letting in and out. The youngest Bailey (9 months) is indoor only, so mustn't get out but we have fenced in the patio (it's now a Catio) so it's no issue stopping him going out. NOTE! generally they are good as gold - just sometimes get the occasional moody streak.

Sorry NO PETS - the cats rule the roost and wouldn't tolerate any.

The ONLY negative is that sometimes they decide you need to get up at 6am, but they've never done that with sitters before, they seem to reserve that pleasure for us, but you never know!

We have a regular dog walker/cat sitter living only 3 doors away with qualified animal first aid etc. We have left them for a week before and she covered frequent cat visits every day, but one cat is only 9 months old and has never been left longer than a supermarket run (due to covid), so I wouldn't want them alone at night and/or all day.

Own double and/or single room, with your own jacuzzi bath upstairs (our master and bathroom is downstairs) so easy to stay extra overnight both sides of our holiday dates if you wish. Use of our shower in the downstairs master en suite if required, if you'd rather shower than bath. The house has a small garden, koi pond and a large terrace (covered) off the farmhouse kitchen lovely for outdoor dining if it's warm enough to sit outside - and covered if you need to smoke. This terrace has been fenced in and is cat proof, so the youngest cat can have outdoor time with you. Barbecue provided.

Beautiful location in Forest of Dean, but not isolated, in a village. Pubs x 2 and Chinese takeaway within a few hundred yards. AMAZING walks locally. Within walking distance of mountain bike hire shop, and lovely cycle tracks in the Forest.

If distance permits it would be lovely to meet you beforehand, if not a zoom or FaceTime works. We can put you up overnight if you can (and would like to) visit before the housesit. Also happy for you to extend and stay a few days beforehand/after if it suits your travel arrangements - guest accommodation is upstairs so there would be no awkwardness with us all being in the house at once.

Julie-Ann and Rud

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Cable TV, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Dishwasher
  • Country, Bush/Forest (Nature, Quiet)
  • Trains/Trams, Supermarket, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Live Music
Reviews (2)
We really enjoyed our week looking after Bailey & Trouble, who despite his name was no trouble at all! Julie-Ann & Rud were very welcoming & provided lots of info on the cats' routine & habits. The house is comfortable with comfy double bed & our own bathroom. It's a good base for exploring the Forest of Dean & Wye Valley which has some lovely walks. Thanks for having us
 
EDDIE (Apr 2021 - One week)
Lovely house and location . Superb area to walk the dog in the forest - we walked twice a day most days. Tink, the dog settled very well , the cats were a little stand-offish at first ( i think its natural for the breed) but soon warmed to us and joined us in the lounge in the evening. We had a very comfortable room and bathroom . Julie-Ann is a generous host - we'd be happy to 'sit' there again
 
SALLY (Oct 2019 - 1 week 1 day)
Many thanks! It was lovely to know they were all in safe hands
 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge